Here's How to Earn the Newest Worldwide Obstacle Course Racing Trophy

Here's How to Earn the Newest Worldwide Obstacle Course Racing Trophy

For years, the Spartan Trifecta — completing a Sprint 5K (or Stadion or City race), a Super 10K, and a Beast 21K (or Ultra 50K) in one race season — has been considered the ultimate annual challenge, and the epic Trifecta medal has been deemed the most coveted trophy in all of obstacle course racing. 

As we continue to expand across the globe and into even more incredible, diverse athletic disciplines, we're adding a new level of competition, excitement, and gamification to the obstacle course racing playing field. And, after signing a Memorandum of Understanding with World Obstacle, the Fédération Internationale de Sports d’Obstacles (FISO), this year, we've established a cooperation framework to continue developing the sport of obstacle course racing across the globe.

Related: Is There a Spartan Race or Tough Mudder Event in Your State? Find Out

A new, worldwide trophy, sanctioned by Fédération Internationale de Sports d’Obstacles, will be introduced in the 2023 race season, bringing together obstacle course racers from different athletic backgrounds in pursuit of the OCR Triple Crown. The crown's pursuit will fuel an explosive, fierce competition between racers who may have never crossed paths before, and foster a more global field of athletes than ever before. 

With three marquee obstacle course events making up the competitive year, here's everything you need to know about the OCR Triple Crown trophy and how you can earn it this year.

What Is the OCR Triple Crown Trophy?

Similar to how Trifecta chasers usually pursue a Sprint, Super, and Beast to earn their title, these are the three events that will count toward the OCR Triple Crown in 2023.

FISO OCR World Championships - Belgium, Sept. 14-17, 2023

OCR Triple Crown

This race is a 100-meter, 10-obstacle format.

Spartan World Championship - Al Wathba, Abu Dhabi, Dec. 8-10, 2023

OCR Triple Crown

This event is a 3,000-meter format. 

World's Toughest Mudder - Granbury, Texas, Nov. 4-5, 2023

OCR Triple Crown

This is a 24-hour, ultra-endurance obstacle course race. 

Related: These 3 Major Changes Are Coming to Spartan Racing in 2023

Athlete Eligibility: How to Earn the OCR Triple Crown

Good news: You don't have to be an elite athlete right now to compete for the OCR Triple Crown in 2023. Anyone is eligible to compete for this new trophy, but be aware that you will have to complete all three of the qualifying events. For each event, you will also have to meet event-specific qualifications, which will include:

  • FISO OCR World Championships: Athletes must be registered with their national federation.
  • Spartan World Championship: Athletes must qualify for the Elite 3K event.
  • World’s Toughest Mudder: Athletes must meet criteria to race in the Contender category.

    Scoring the OCR Triple Crown

    At the end of every event, points will be issued equal to a racer's finishing place after each event. For example, if you finished in first place, you earn one point for that event. Therefore, the closer to first place you finish at each race, the higher your chance of winning the title. (Ties will be broken by referencing finishing times.)

    After all three events have concluded, the OCR Triple Crown trophies will be awarded to the male and female athlete with the fewest points. 

      Editorial x All 2023 Passes